Chairman of the jury of the anniversary the 70-th Cannes film festival has selected the Spanish Director Pedro Almodovar, according to the organizing Committee of the festival.

For the first time in the history of the festival jury will be headed by the Spaniard, reports Bi-bi-si.

“I am very happy to be able to celebrate the 70th anniversary of the Cannes film festival, being at such a place of honor. I am grateful, honored and a bit overwhelmed. I realize what a responsibility to be the head of the jury and hope that will do the job,” said almodóvar.

Almodóvar has twice won awards at the Cannes film festival. In 1999, he received a “Palme d’or” as best Director for the film “All about my mother”, and in 2006 won the award for best screenwriter for the film “the Return”. The Director also two statues of “Oscar” in 1999, his film “All about my mother” won the award in the nomination “best foreign film”, and in 2003, Almodovar received the “Oscar” in the nomination “best screenplay” for the film “Talk to her”.

70th festival de Cannes in France from 17 to 28 may 2017.

In different years the jury was headed by famous Directors and actors, including Steven Spielberg (2013), Emir Kusturica (2005), Quentin Tarantino (2004), David Lynch (2002), Luc Besson (2000) and many others.

In 2016, the head of the jury of the Cannes film festival was Australian Director George Miller.

The jury of the Cannes film festival headed by Pedro almodóvar 31.01.2017

Share this news

Share to Google Plus
Share to LiveJournal
Share to Odnoklassniki